My Type 1 Pregnancy

I am slowly learning that being a first time mom is full of surprises – and lots of belly butter! – but being Type 1 Diabetic adds some extra tidbits along the way. My conception story is a little less than conventional for a T1. You really pick up on that when the doctor seeing you at your third prenatal visit asks you, “So when are you planning to get pregnant?” … #awkward

When you have T1, pregnancy is supposed to be SUPER planned for. Or should be at least. When I found out I was pregnant I was still working to get my body into optimal baby mode. My sugars were wacky and my A1c was way too high…. 8.2 to be exact. At 8 weeks and 5 days (about a month and a half later) my A1c was down to 7.7! Small victories.

Today, at 10 weeks, I got set up on a Tandem insulin pump and I’m loving it already! I’m hoping that not having to deal with rounding my bolus units and having a flexible basal will fix the over/under correction problems I’ve been having and eliminate the crazy nighttime lows.

Because of my somewhat less than conventional T1 conception I was scrounging for resources as soon as I saw those double lines. I hadn’t had the month’s of tight control and training from a high risk OB to tell me what to expect! For any T1 ladies out there who are having a little surprise, or even if you are planning on getting pregnant, here are the things I couldn’t have lived without that first month! (both diabetes related and not!)

  1. JDRF’s Pregnancy Toolkit was so informative and comforting. If you are a type A Type 1 Diabetic this is the most comprehensive and least complicated guide to what steps you should take before pregnancy and how pregnancy changes the way you manage you diabetes – and it’s FREE! You can download the PDF from the link above and they’ll also send you a paper copy in the mail.
  2. What to Expect When You’re Expecting, I realize seems a little cliche and typical, but I LOVE how this book is organized and the way things are explained. Some books explain things in a more confusing way than your doctor, but this one talks you through things in a realistic and comfortable way. This latest edition also has great sections for your partner!
  3. Joining the Type 1 Diabetes and Pregnancy group on Facebook has been so comforting! I am only the second in my friend group to get pregnant and I don’t have any Type 1 friends near me that are women. In other words – this group is a wonderful resource for advice, product recommendations, and even just emotional support! It is a closed group so you will have to request to be added but it’s definitely worth the wait!
  4. My CGM. I’m not sure that I would recommend starting on a CGM after pregnancy because, since conceiving, my numbers have occasionally been inaccurate. HOWEVER! Since conceiving I have also had a much harder time feeling lows coming on and, had I not been wearing my CGM, I may not have noticed until it was too late. I’m very confident that my CGM has saved me from going to the ER on multiple occasions.
  5. SNACKS! I haven’t really struggled with morning sickness all that much but I am FOREVER hungry. We shop mostly at Aldi and some of my favorite snacks are their unsalted almonds, SimplyNature Organic Popcorn, Fit&Active string cheese, and oranges… or just fruit in general really!! My favorite thing about these snacks is that they’re all low carb and contain healthy fats and fiber.
  6. Coconut Oil and Burt’s Bees Mama Bee Belly Butter – Two words ladies: BUTTER UP. My mother in law has had four kids and she told me to start lathering early. Not that I would argue with a little pampering, but this is one thing where I’m not really sure I want to take my chances. I like these two products because they don’t have crazy smells mainly, but I’m planning to try at least one more recommendation that I got from my cousin before I set my heart on one product. I’ll update when I do! 🙂

**disclaimer: I have not been paid by any of these companies to review their products, this is all my guaranteed very biased opinion.**

Real talk. Weird things are happening to my body AND my diabetes. Highlights? I had a lot more low blood sugars, my CGM readings were occasionally WAY off, and my bellybutton feels weird all the time! Haha 🙂

I’m so excited to be joining the ranks of motherhood and hope you fellow first time moms out there find this post helpful!

Cheers!

Shelby

Thoughts are welcome!

