The Only Rice Recipe You’ll Ever Need

Okay so I have to admit – this is not my recipe. A wonderful woman taught me how to make rice years ago and I will forever love her for it! I used to always under or overcook my rice and it was so bland, but never again! Most of the time, especially if I have several meals planned that require rice, I will make a lot at once (2-3 cups dry rice) and save what I don’t need for later meals or to take as a side for my lunch. So here it is step by step!

  1. Pour about 1-2 Tbsp (depending on how much rice) of olive oil in your pan and put on medium heat.
  2. Mince 3-6 cloves of garlic, or more if you love garlic! And sautΓ© in olive oil.
  3. Once the garlic is sizzling a bit (don’t let it brown) add your rice DRY! SautΓ© the dry rice until it starts to turn brighter.
  4. Add warm water, a dash of salt, and place a lid on the pot. Let cook (stirring occasionally) until all of the water is absorbed or evaporated and DONE.

FOR WHITE RICE: Use a ratio of 2 cups of water for every one cup of rice and tilt the lid a tiny bit while it cooks. Will take 15-30 minutes to cook depending on the quantity.

FOR BROWN RICE: Use a ratio of 3 cups of water for every cup of rice and leave the lid placed normally on the pan. Will take 30-40 minutes to cook depending on the quantity.

As far as the kind of rice I use, I definitely prefer Jasmine but I’ve used this method with other varieties and have had no issues. If you’re interested these are the exact brands I stock up on (at Aldi – big surprise!). However, I almost exclusively buy brown rice now, wheat pasta, and whole grain bread because it makes a HUGE difference with blood sugar control for me.

Specially Selected Brown Basmati RiceSpecially Selected Jasmine Rice

 

May you never have mushy, crunchy, or bland rice again!

-Shelby

Thoughts are welcome!

